“Balance is a Verb”

The title quotation comes from Osho, in a talk in which he states, “Balance is something that comes out of the experience of all dimension of life.”

I’ve been reflecting on the dynamic experience of balance as a Simming strategy.

This past week, as we were counting down the Sim days allotted to Acacia, I gave my Sims lots of free time. They chose to interact with each other, to catch up on chores, to play games, to paint, to use the microscope and observatory. They shared many sweet moments. I began to think that this was a key to successful game play: just stay out of the way and watch.

Then, I started to notice that they were floundering. Their interactions became destructive, with some yelling and insulting. (Thanks, Manzanita!). Paris’s social became perma-yellow. Anya, the glutton, neglected to eat. Acacia and Kyler spent most of their time on opposite sides of the lot.

Time for some intervention. With a bit of guidance and a few suggestions, soon needs were taken care of, relationships patched up, and balance restored.

In game play, I love to dance between giving Sims freedom and providing guidance. I like to strive for a dynamic balance which provides happiness.

Some Sims require a bit of influence to make friends and interact, while others handle this perfectly well on their own. Other Sims require guidance to develop skills or take care of the home or garden.

I find this same approach works well for my life. Sometimes, I can freely follow my whims and life just sails along! At other times, I need to provide a big of guidance for myself, creating structure, setting goals, getting a few things done before playing.

In life, we have astrological, biological, and social influences to help us with balance. Sometimes, Uranus disrupts our Saturnian schedules, and we simply must break free and play! Other times, Saturn flows well and our structures and sense of discipline simply feel right. Our body’s rhythms help us to know when it’s time to move and stretch and play outside, when we need to rest, when we need to eat. Society (like Saturn) offers plenty of structure and plenty of models. Sometimes, we need to break free and just be who we are at our core, and other times, the regularity of work, shopping, paying bills, visiting with neighbors, and being of service to others simply feels right.

This approach to life–this approach to game-play–involves relinquishing control and, instead, developing sensitivity and responsiveness. I can experiment and eventually learn to sense when the fitting response is to allow my Sims to be on their own, and I can notice the signs of when some guidance on my part would be more beneficial.

And in my own live, I learn to notice the same: when I need to buckle down to accomplish needed tasks, when I can relax and play, when I can simply be quiet and still. I love the dance of this movement in my own life–and I’m learning to love it as I play with the digital lives of my pixelated Sims.

