HWC: Week 1, Day 2

I needn’t have worried about the chemistry. It is magic between us.

Sally

“Can you really believe that we’re doing this? Just because of some government ad?”

When we came home from our first date (I took her to the library, since she’s a bookworm), we immediately tried to conceive. Just to be sure, we tried again. And then for luck, a third time.

Sally

“I had no idea that a government project could be so much fun!”

As I drifted off to sleep, saturated with chemistry of love, I thought we should just scrap the project, move off to the desert and find an oasis, and live there drunk on love for the rest of our days. Harrington D’Arcy and Sally Bennet, castaways for love.

The next morning, Sally greeted me with the news that our efforts (or should I say, our joys) were successful: we were going to have a baby.

Harrington

I was rendered speechless. So much, so quick, so sudden! And to think, just yesterday, I had known no one.

We agreed to call him Wentworth.

“But what if she’s a girl?” Sally asked.

Harrington

This was the first time I noticed that her lip becomes pouty when she doesn’t approve of what she calls ‘my chauvinist  attitude.’ How cute.

I didn’t know what to say. It honestly hadn’t occurred to me that the Wonder Child would be anything but a boy.

“If, by some chance, this turns out to be a girl, let’s name her Elizabeth, after my great, great, great, great grandmother.”

“Oh, no,” said Sally. “I had a great, great, great, great aunt named Lizzie, and the family tales hold that she was a real handful. Let’s call her Emma.”

Sally

If this is what she looks like when she’s mad, I’m going to have a lot of fun. She is just as adorable angry as she is when she is happy!

And so it seems that our project has begun.

