S-GAS Vlogs: Participant Intros, pt. 3

Archival footage of video logs from S-GAS Transformation participants

(Sim vlog commentaries presented courtesy of the Sims’ respective players)

Karen Wontothree

Video stamp:
SGTP – Karen Wontothree
Player: Carewren123 / http://carewren123simstories.weebly.com/
Day 1

beginrecording

Karen Wontothree

I have a deep appreciation of quietness. I’m pretty new to existence in the Sims 4, but I know I’m a lot like my player and she prefers quiet most of the time.

Karen Wontothree

My player hasn’t given me much time to develop my skills before throwing me into this whole SIMposium adventure. That hasn’t been really easy. Plus I’ve run into some Sims that are a little judgmental about the whole SimSelf-thing.

Karen Wontothree

I want to learn more about what being a Sim is like, since I’m pretty new to it.

I think I’ll observe lots of other Sims and ask their opinions about things.

Karen Wontothree

I’m especially curious about using cheats since I know I could use some to jump start my skill levels.

It’s tempting to do that since my player didn’t give me much time to build skills before sending me here.

Karen Wontothree

When I met Willow Woods for the first time she initially jumped to the wrong conclusion about what it’s like to be a SimSelf. After a slightly heated heart-to-heart with her, though, I made her understand that things aren’t always that easy for Simselves. From this I learned two things:

  1. Good Sims should always do their best to not make snap judgments and to always give other Sims a chance to change your judgement.
  2. I learned how important forgiveness is. If I hadn’t forgave Willow we wouldn’t be the good friends that we are today.

Karen Wontothree

endrecording

Video stamp:

SGTP – Ike Rivera, Sr.
Player: SunnyShay / https://hellagoodsims.wordpress.com
Day 1

Ike Rivera

beginrecording

Ike Rivera

Silence? I have 5 or 6 kids, ma’am, I don’t know nothing ’bout no silence.

Ike Rivera

My biggest challenge ever is boredom. Being ignored as my family grow larger.

Ike Rivera

What do I hope to discover? Becoming my own best friend, even though I’m already my best homie. I guess I also want to be more self-sufficient and I need to break my addiction to dancing to music from my stereo when my baby is hungry.

Ike Rivera

Mainly, though, I just want a break from those kids back home.

Ike Rivera

My first night in existence, I had a one-night stand with a sombrero lady. It was a good time, such a good time I figured girly was it. But then I checked my phone and saw she looks like in real life and that when I knew I could do better than that. Now I’m not saying she’s came from barktown or nothing. I just don’t like glasses.

I also learned if you invite them over once, you create a stalker situation.

Ike Rivera

endrecording

Video stamp:

SGTP – Aspen Bough
Player: Cathy Tea / https://cathytea.wordpress.com/
Day 1

Aspen Bough

beginrecording

Aspen Bough

Hey, peeps! It’s me, Aspen! You know me from Goofy Love, right? So what the plum am I doing over here at S-GAS?

Aspen Bough

Well, it turns out that a certain Simmy friend of Cath T’s had this interest in her SimSelf meeting me because I’m awesome! Haha! Well. I don’t know about that. But I am Aspen! And when Cath asked if I’d like to send an instance of myself here, I was like, Holy Llama mascots, popcorn! Duh!

Aspen Bough

So here I am!

Aspen Bough

Being here gives me a chance to reflect on the challenges in my life. Legacy brat, right? Looking like the next heir, right? Man, I should really talk to Emelia and see if maybe she could find out if the founder of my legacy had a legitimacy clause. I know she didn’t, though, for we’re all bastards up and down the line!

Aspen Bough

It feels amazing and free to escape from the aging on, constant skilling, meet-a-mate and make-a-baby pace of legacy life. Even if I’m just escaping for a little while. I’m starting to understand why Cathy continually is inventing all these diversions for herself that take her away from playing our family–it’s because she wants escape from that cycle, too.

Aspen Bough

We know that Willow, my aunt, is going to die soon. I know that Cathy just plays these other games to keep her heart from getting broken again. For me, it’s not such a big deal. It’s the digital life. I understand that. I know Willow will die, and then my mom, and then me. I’m actually ok with it.

Aspen Bough

I guess, fundamentally, I’m ok with the whole legacy thing because I see that it fills a goal. People love my family. Cathy herself has found great solace, even, in reflecting on the passing of generations, though she still wants to stop time so she can stop saying goodbye to somebody she loves every few weeks. Sucks to be stuck in the carbon-based time stream.

Aspen Bough

Even when we’re digital, time doesn’t stop. For me, there’s something endless in that.

Aspen Bough

I don’t mean endless as in tedious. I mean endless as in infinite. Like playing a legacy helps you guys on the other side of the screen get a bit of a glimpse into the continuity of the ages. Heck, for that, I’ll even have a baby, even though I don’t personally want one. But if by being the heir and having a baby, all of you get to see this smile that I inherited from my grandpa the Royal Llama Tamer float on down through generation 10, it will be worth it.

Aspen Bough

Buck up, Cathy T. on the other side of the screen! We legacy brats know what we’re about and we are up to rising to the occasion!

Aspen Bough

endrecording

Video stamp:

SGTP – Leonora Alves-Rivera
Player: SunnyShay / https://hellagoodsims.wordpress.com
Day 1

Leonora Alves-Rivera

beginrecording

Leonora Alves-Rivera

The only time I experience silence is when I’m sleep. The only time silence is in my waking hours is when our children are at school. And that when I spend all my free time doing my favorite pastimes like writing, cleaning and gardening.

Leonora Alves-Rivera

A challenge? Having relationships outside of my family, focusing on my writing and living on a small lot.

Leonora Alves-Rivera

I say I’d like to discover that I was designed for something other than being’s a child-bearer for Isaac. I like to explore my own individuality, to know that I’m more than just Leonora Alves-Rivera, fabulous matriarch of the Rivera dynasty.

Leonora Alves-Rivera

Describe a significant learning experience? Hmm. This is a interesting question. Never quite thought much about that.

Leonora Alves-Rivera

It’s not a story per se, but I’d say that everything seems to happen as a result of persistence. That’s the only way I can possibly explain my recurring wishes to “try for baby with Ike” even after 5 children.

Leonora Alves-Rivera

Video stamp:
SGTP – Fey Johnson
Player: JordanNicoleJJ / https://simsandsuch.wordpress.com/
Day 1

Fey Johnson

beginrecording

Fey Johnson

Fey Johnson

I’m a lonerSim; I live on silence.

What’s a challenge that I currently face? Oh, other than the fact that my entire existence is just a series of 1’s and 0’s and I have no control over my life whatsoever? Well, I’m the current matriarch of the Johnson Legacy, and that’s a challenge in itself.

Fey Johnson

My biggest challenge is the fact that I’m an Evil Sim living in a society that only see’s the bad in “evil.” We Evil Sims have our good attributes too! First of all, when tragedy hits and everyone else is a lethargic mess, we put on a brave front and persevere.

Fey Johnson

You may think we just enjoy misery, but there’s more to it: we’re the rocks. We can bear others’ misery without getting sucked into it, and we can help them through it–when we want to, that is.

Fey Johnson

I want to discover what it means to be a Sim. How can I go on if my existence is just for some Player’s entertainment? What future can I look forward to if this is all just a game?

Fey Johnson

This diary entry explains it all:

Yesterday at work I came across some…unnerving files in the level 8 classified section of the company’s database. It was heavily encoded, so I could only make out a few words before a bag was thrown over my head, and I was dragged out of my cubical (okay, so I only have level 6 clearance…). Those words were “The Sims 4.

While I sat in holding I pondered those words. At first I thought it was just a prototype of a new version of The Sims Forever. But why would it require level 8 clearance? Even our best video game ideas are no more than level 4 classified. If I’m going to execute step one of my plan, I need to know everything about this company, so after a quick lecture about overstepping my clearance level, and a promotion for finding a hole in their firewall, I started digging.

I downed a glass of Zzz juice and logged into my computer through a secret backdoor. I’m one of the company’s best programmers, but to pull this off, I had to be the best. And I was.

Remember when I said my entire life has been a lie? Maybe I should say my “digital existence” has been a lie, because this is not “life.” We’re all characters in a video game called The Sims 4, played by some narcissistic megalomaniac.”

Fey Johnson

endrecording

Video stamp:

SGTP – Ikey Rivera, Jr.
Player: SunnyShay / https://hellagoodsims.wordpress.com
Day 1

Mikey Rivera

beginrecording

Mikey Rivera

Usually silence is the cause of the pause. But overall I’m fine with it.

My challenge is figuring out my identity other than being oldest son, third in command, 1/2 of twin, meat head.

Mikey Rivera

What do I want to discover? I’ve no idea, to be honest.

I once met this girl once and I could’ve sworn we went out on a date. I remember going to the park and getting my first kiss from her. After that everything went blank. And when I got back later, I didn’t see her for a while until I saw her at a club and she treated me like I wasn’t even her friend.

Not sure if I learned anything major but I thought it was just weird.

Ikey Rivera

endrecording

Video stamp:


beginrecording

Freezer Bunny

MOM! CAN I DO THE NEWS NOW?

–Did everyone finish recording their vlogs?

EVERYONE EXCEPT UNCLE BIL! HE SAYS HE’LL DO IT LATER WHEN HE HAS SOMETHING TO SAY!

–Sounds great, pipsqueak! Go for it ! You know your dad and I are looking forward to watching it later so we can find out what happened today. And then when you’re done it’s probably time for bed, right? Think about what book you want your dad to read to you, ok?

Freezer Bunny

Ok.

