S-GAS Reflections: Whims and Desires

Reflections/Questions from S-GAS Transformation Session – Beyond Coding: What is at Our Core
(Ana’s questions courtesy of Carewren123 and Number Two’s contributions courtesy of MsPhy)

Ana Pringle

Ana Pringle: How do we, game-aware Sims, know that our whims and dreams are actually ours and not what our player has made us to want?

Young Cathy Tea: Oh. This is very interesting. Let’s see. You can learn to feel or see your interface. I feel mine in the space around the upper part of my back, as if there were thin invisible rods from them to my back and shoulders.

Beyond Coding

Ana Pringle: Yes… I can feel something. And I see something up there that looks like a palette!

Ana Pringle

Young Cathy Tea: That’s your whim to paint! Tune into that. You might see your icon in the center and around that, you will see or feel your whims. Or you might see or feel it in another way. With practice, you’ll be able to “see” your whims any time you tune in.

Ana Pringle: This is going to be so useful and so fun! Hmmm… It looks like I have a whim to woo-hoo in a tent! And my husband isn’t even here. I wonder if that’s why I gave Joel a flirty introduction at breakfast today.

Young Cathy Tea: I’ve got one of those whims right now, too. I’m hoping Elder swings by after we’ve wrapped things up here. You know, though, I’ve learned that just because I have a “whim,” it doesn’t mean that I need to act on it, or that it’s even in my best interest. For example, after Elder and I first got together, I was sort of overloaded with flirty feelings. And I often rolled whims to flirt with others–like the ranger at Granite Falls and or even Alex! Once I examined these whims, I realized that they were probably over-flow from being so turned on and so in love with Elder, and it was a good idea for me to let them fade, rather than act on them.

Fortunately, my player doesn’t force me to perform every whim. I was free to act on them or ignore them. I chose to ignore them and let them fade, for Elder and I were very new together, and it didn’t seem like the right time for me to share that flirty energy with anyone else. These whims haven’t popped up again. But if they did, I’d examine them. And if I felt they were something I wanted to act on–if I felt these whims fit with what I wanted to experience as a Sim–then I feel that now Elder and I could discuss them–and discuss his whims, too, and decide together what we wanted to do about them.

Oh. Dang. TMI, I know. I tend to over-share much when I like and trust someone, and I like and trust you a lot.

Cathy Tea

Ana Pringle: That’s ok, Cathy! I feel I often learn best from stories, so don’t worry about oversharing! I like and trust you, too.

Young Cathy Tea: Oh! Mr. Two! Just in time before I flashed Ana with the entire contents of my animal-hats drawer!

Number Two

Ana Pringle: We were talking about whims and how we can tell if our whims are ours or things our player wants us to do. Do you have experiences in being aware of your whims as being distinct from your player’s wishes?

Ana Pringle

Number Two: Ahem. Well, yes … I do have this awareness, as you say, Ms. Pringle, of the “whim interface,” as it were. However, I have always assumed that these whims are actually mine rather than Number One’s–Number One is my “player,” as it were, though I am not really comfortable thinking of Her as such–but as I was saying, I have assumed they are mine, because for the most part Number One ignores them utterly.

Number Two

Number Two: Mind you, I do not object to this. I feel my purpose is to carry out that which She desires, even if I do not understand it.

Number Two

Number Two: And how do I do gain this “awareness” of my interface, my GUI, to be indiscreet? Well, again, it starts as a tingle, but at the top of my head. Possibly the plumbob has something to do with it. At any rate, I look up and think, “Yes, Number One?”

Number Two

Number Two: Then I see a range of possibilities before me–or rather, above me. Then I hear Her–yes! I hear Her, I do! She will say, perhaps, “Number Two, go play the handbuzzer trick on that Sim.” My pixilated heart leaps with joy, and I hasten to do Her bidding!

Number Two

Number Two: Occasionally the tasks are less enjoyable–for example, sometimes I must give a heartfelt compliment  to another Sim, but if Number One wishes it …. well, for me, this is my Highest Purpose. I do not understand Her ways, but I delight in carrying out Her wishes!

Number Two

Number Two: At times She will grant me full autonomy, such as now. These are the times that I act on my whims, if I feel like it. One can never tell what I will do when left to my own devices.

Number Two

Number Two: After our day-long experiment in consciousness, you are probably wondering if I have any questions. I have no specific questions.

Number Two

Number Two: I consider myself a bit of a mystic and wish to expand my mind through the experiences of this workshop. Perhaps I can ascend to a higher plane of understanding. There is an old song that says, “I’ve been to paradise, but I’ve never been to me.” I do not know if I have been to paradise, but I would very much like to discover “me.”

Number Two

Young Cathy Tea: And do you feel that you are discovering you so far?

Number Two

Number Two: I am discovering what I like, what draws me to her…. or, rather, that which I desire. Or let me put it another way, if discovering the leanings of one’s heart, especially in the matters of the heart, constitutes discovering oneself, then I would say, yes. I am beginning to discover me, and also, what perhaps, might be paradise to me. I will always remember vividly this morning’s session and the glimpse into paradise that it afforded me.

Alice

