S-GAS Reflections: When Seraphim Walk this Digital Earth

Reflections from S-GAS Transformation Session: Chopping/Carrying
Participant: Sarafina Plumsin
(Oregon Tilth Certified Organic: contains minimum value of 89.3%* words harvested from Whattheplum/FloorRaisin Farms
*Salt and water are not included.)

beginrecording

Sarafina

I feel like sharing that of all the Transformation sessions “Chopping/Carrying” feels the most “real” to me.

Sarafina

Do you know the poem “To Be Of Use,” by Marge Piercy?

The work of the world is common as mud.
Botched, it smears the hands, crumbles to dust.
But the thing worth doing well done
has a shape that satisfies, clean and evident.
Greek amphoras for wine or oil,
Hopi vases that held corn, are put in museums
but you know they were made to be used.
The pitcher cries for water to carry
and a person for work that is real.

Sarafina

Anphora. Tangible form is good.

I like quiet, senses, touch.

Sarafina

Music is for dancing.

Robots are for talking.

Sarafina

Sarafina

Sarafina

Sarafina

Sarafina

Sarafina

Dinos are for mocking.

Sarafina

Veggie burgers are for eating; friends are for laughing.

Sarafina

It is simple, more than it is complex.

To be digital is not so different than to be physical. In both, the drive is for what is real–what is real and tangible for us.

I don’t care so much about what is underneath, what is unseen or unfelt, as I do about what is between. What is seen. What can be felt. What is made for use.

Sarafina

I’m feeling the whole “normal” thing to the extent that I’m wondering if I even believe in the Player/Played paradigm at all.

I know I can cancel out any actions in my queue anytime I want. And I can also put my own actions there. What my player–whomever that happens to be at the time–wants isn’t so important as what I want. And what I want is what I want.

Sarafina

I suppose if I’d started out game-unaware and become aware, things might be different, but when I imagine myself relating to many of these sessions, I feel as though I’m moving in reverse and looping back around in order to catch up with everyone who’s just at the beginning of the journey!

So many of these ideas make me think “Well, duh!”

And I feel impatient. Is that terrible? It is, isn’t it.

Sarafina

I come with an intention that I will be present to listen and connect with others despite my skepticism and general distaste for the genre and the idle privileged who pat themselves on the backs for “discovering” things that folks who’ve had their hands in the dirt have known forever?

.. I promise not to bring a picket sign or body paint. Although, I’m changing my mind a little about both.

Sarafina

I do feel like being used for what I was made to be used for.

There’s a certain angsty bastard of a reporter who’s been lurking around in nothing but his swim trunks, armed with his arsenal of whipping cream. He’s killin’ me. Maybe I’ll call him and see if he feels like being well used, too.

Sterling

Sterling Rover

Sarafina

Aspen: Let’s give these two a little space, shall we?

Sarafina

Sarafina

Sarafina

Sarafina

Sarafina

Sarafina

Sarafina

Sarafina

Technician: Plum. Our transmission is breaking up. Can you read us? Dang. What’s going on? There’s some sort of interference happening in the transmission. Do you smell smoke? Is that? Holy plum! Look on the horizon! I think our satellite tower’s on fire.

zxew wmaskp gepcih wemasdpfb beasdmk–

