Skill U: 1.7

The college journal of Honey Walker — If found, please deliver to Casas Dulces, Magnolia Promenade.

Week One, Day Seven – Freshman Year

Editor’s Note: This is a copy of the email which Honey sent to her father on the final day of the first semester. Honey’s journal entries are numbered according to week and day of the week. As she does not keep daily entries, gaps appear in the numbering. Please see the Table of Contents for the full listing of entries.

Honey Walker

Dad — I’ve got so much to write! I’ve finished the first semester. I actually did it and I didn’t flunk out! Not yet, anyway.

The catalog was really unclear about how first-semester grading was done, so all along, I’ve been working towards fulfilling the requirements for an A for the first year–I figured that if I did everything I needed to in order to get the freshman year A, then it would ensure a first semester A, right?

The requirements are pretty tough: Earn 3 skill points in piano, guitar, and violin for my major, plus 3 points in either writing or physical fitness for general studies. I chose physical fitness, Dad. I know you want me to be a writer, but I also know that you value being strong and fit. So that’s what I chose. Plus, at this point in my life, I don’t feel that I have enough experience to be a writer. I can write later, after I gain more experience in life. And then, if I’m already fit, it’ll be a good thing. I won’t develop writer’s bottom!

Honey Walker

I spent all Saturday working to get the last fitness point I needed, the last piano point I needed, and all three guitar points I needed.

Man, that was tough!

Honey Walker

Honey Walker

Honey Walker

Honey Walker

But, Dad, guess what? I did it! 

Then, as soon as I’d completed it all, I saw Dr. Dean in the kitchen. She said she’d received clarification about the grading requirements, and we were only required to complete half of the freshman total in order to get a first semester A. 

Leslie Dean

She said it like it was good news–and I guess it was! 

But man! I’d worked so hard! And it turns out I didn’t even need to!

Honey Walker

I felt really disappointed–sort of gypped, at first. All that hard work! I’d really pushed myself! And I hadn’t even needed to?

And then I realized, wait a sec! This is a good thing! I’ve already earned an A not only for first semester, but for the whole year! The whole first year! 

Honey Walker

You’re gonna laugh at me, Dad, but I hope you feel proud, too. I took like one minute to celebrate. But in that one minute celebration, I was on top of the world! An A for my first year!

Honey Walker

After I celebrated–for exactly one minute–then I started to plan again. I started thinking about how much is left to do. Tomorrow’s Sunday, the first day of the new semester, and I don’t have any classes. So I want to be sure to use my time well. Maybe I’ll get a head start on some of the other general requirements I need to fulfill for future years. Maybe I’ll work more on my aspiration, so I can have a shot at graduating cum laude. Maybe I’ll keep plugging away at my performing arts skills so I’ll be a little bit ahead for sophomore year requirements.

Honey Walker

When I look ahead at all that I need to accomplish in the next three and a half years, it feels overwhelming. I don’t know if I can do it, Dad. But I know that I want to make you proud. So, one way or another, I will do it. I’ll make you proud and I’ll graduate. And I’ll do my best to earn an A every year, ok?

Love you so much,

Honey

<< Previous | Next >>

