Conversation with… Miss Penguin

Miss Penguin’s  “GTW: Vignettes” is one of the selected readings for the Freezer Bunny Book Club at the EA Sims Forums for the week of August 24, 2015.

Teahouse

CT: Miss Penguin! How exciting to meet you here at the Teahouse! I love it here.

BBQ: Thank you for inviting me to have a conversation with you, Cathy! Especially here at my creation.

Teahouse

CT: It’s such an amazing house. I arranged for us to come at night, after it closed, so that we could have it all to ourselves and so that we can see it at night. You know, I placed this lot next to the Animal Hat Summer Camp because I wanted it to show up in the background of a lot of the screenshots. It looks incredible! I especially love it when it’s lit up.

Teahouse

BBQ: I am glad you love it, since I made it with you in mind. I wanted to make sure that it fit in with what I know of your personality. Lots of plants, even cacti!

Teahouse

BBQ: The tea space you asked for, and of course a place for artistic creativity. I also added some cute gnomes and sculptures hidden about to appeal to your goofball nature.

Teahouse

Teahouse

Teahouse

CT: The first thing that I noticed when we brought the kids here for the field trip was how many visitors were here. This place really attracts others! I’ve got it designated as a park. But it seems to attract more Sims than most parks. Maybe because there’s so much to do!

BBQ: That’s wonderful! I love that the space has this energy that draws Sims. I wanted it to be a place that Sims could enjoy and relax and take in the scenery.

Teahouse

CT: Let’s take a tour! I’ll point out my favorite things, and you can also talk about some of the details that you added and your thoughts in adding them.

BBQ: Okay! Show me your favorites.

Teahouse

CT: This little chess table right here by the door is so endearing to me! First of all, my life-partner on the other side of the screen is a chess player. And then, I just love that it’s right here by the door. Often, at cafes, that’s where I like to sit, right by the door, facing it, so I can see who comes in and out.

BBQ: I love the chess tables in the Sims because it seems to draw everyone. I don’t think I have ever seen a chess table empty for long. The Sims love their game. It is so fun to watch as different Sims meet and play. And it’s funny to see who cheats!

Teahouse

BBQ: I also like to people-watch. It is interesting to see what people are up to. Maybe I am a bit nosy. I like to create stories and scenarios for people and what they are doing or where they might be going, Sims in real life! I guess it is the storyteller in me.

Teahouse

CT: Oh, I do that, too. All the time. I’ve always got so many stories going on for people I pass. Often, I pretend the people I see on the other side of the screen are Sims!

Oh! I love the fire pit! Joel went right to this on our visit to roast marshmallows. It’s so neat!

Teahouse

BBQ: I wanted to use a lot of Outdoor Retreat items, and I knew you were using this for a camp so I felt a fire pit would be appropriate, to encourage stories and camaraderie. Also I love roasted marshmallows.

CT: What I love–the easels! That’s where I spend most of my time when I’m here. I love that there are flowers right here that I can paint. It’s so lovely!

Teahouse

BBQ: I think my favorite skill in The Sims is the painting skill. I love seeing what they create. It tells a lot about who they are, what inspires them, and what they are feeling. I was extremely excited when the update in preparation for Get to Work introduced the paint from reference. I love being able to have the Sims paint their environment, their friends and family, and I like to spend lots of time staging fun photos for them to paint, like with Heaven from one of my stories.

Teahouse

CT: The tea room is awesome. On our first visit here, Joel met somebody who has since become a really good friend of mine. This is the place to be meet interesting people!

BBQ: Yes, the gray-haired man? I see him in some of the summer camp updates!

Teahouse

CT: Yeah. He’s become a friend of Joel’s. And don’t tell–but he’s a romantic interest of mine. It was accidental–one of those autonomous Enchanted Introductions. But we’ve sort of let the spark fizzle. He’s non-committal, and I’m committal, in a committed relationship! So, it’s a good thing!

BBQ: This place in my own game is full of characters, I am glad that I can be a part of new experiences and friendships.

CT: Shall we go upstairs? I love the placement of the stairway, all the way over here at the corner. So cool.

Teahouse

BBQ: I put it over here because I wanted the tower to have the tearoom on bottom and the art atrium on top, but I didn’t want stairs to take up valuable space. So I figured to have some symmetry to add it to the other side and have a breezeway of sorts.

CT: That’s my other favorite place, the breezeway garden! I’m always up here tending plants.

BBQ: I wanted to have actual growing plants, and not just the decorative ones, so that those like yourself could build up their gardening skill and perhaps take home some fruits, veggies, or herbs that they don’t have at home. Also, I know how much you love to garden yourself in real life so I wanted to add that.

Teahouse

CT: Yes, it’s so much fun! When Young CT and Elder had their little get-away here in the Gallery story, they both gardened together–autonomous on Elder’s part–and I just found that so tender and endearing.

Teahouse

CT: And this tower. So awesome. With, of course, a bonsai.

BBQ: Of course you needed space for the kiddies and any adults to paint. Also up here provides lovely views. And I love the bonsai tree. It’s fun to see what shapes can be made from it.

CT: It’s a heart bonsai. I was thrilled when Bella and I came here and she found the heart bonsai! Like a secret message from her fairy godmother! So sweet and fun!

Teahouse

CT: So what are some of the things you think about when building in general and when building this place, in particular?

BBQ: Well, I don’t think of myself as much of a builder, more of a decorator. A lot of my spaces are outside type spaces with not too much structure or boxy homes. But I am actually practicing my building skills with my building of Newcrest. I am taking a lot of inspiration from the homes in my city. It has been fun trying to recreate the energy and feel of a home into the game.

Teahouse

BBQ: I have had help in the forums from Carewren123 and other amazing builders from the building threads in order to improve my building and getting ideas. I have a home I am working on at the moment that I am really proud of because the real life inspiration is so gorgeous.

Teahouse

BBQ: But when I begin to decorate the first thing I think of is style. What sort of style do I want and this will usually depend on the sim I am decorating for. Heaven, the sim I mentioned earlier, is a world traveler and has a very Bohemian free spirit, so the the loft that she lives in with her wife changes often. There are many different themes and colors and spaces that reflect her and her wife’s different personalities and needs.

Another sim, Georgia, when I decorate for her, her style is similar to when I designed this for you. She loves the outdoors so I used earthy tones, and flower prints. I threw in some bright colors like aqua so that it wasn’t too dark and I used a lot of wood. Her personality is also why I chose to have her own a hippie/earth mother type shop. She sells candles, fossils, gems, herbal remedies, herbal and gardening books, and thanks to Spa Day she sells incense and body oils as well.

Teahouse

BBQ: As I made this place, I had you in mind. I knew you were creative, a goofball, friendly, loves the outdoors, and I knew you had a special love for the desert. So I built this originally in the desert and took inspiration from there. In one of the little garden spaces I made a desert space with lots of cacti and desert plants. I wanted to keep it somewhat open because I wanted it to feel outdoorsy. I didn’t really landscape the outside because I wanted to leave that for the inside. Although in one of my saved games, I have the teahouse with outside landscaping as well and I make lots of upgrades and of course lots of CC!

Teahouse

CT: So exciting. I’m so happy here, as you can probably tell from my bright green plumbob. Now that you’re bringing up specific examples, let’s continue this conversation over on your hard-drive so you can show us some of your other builds and give us specific tips on decorating!

Teahouse

Continue part two on A Penguin’s Adventure in Simming >>

