Townie Town: MM 1.1

tt101

Program Coordinator: Miracle Maynard
Journal Entry: 1.1
Project Goal: Recruitment

Daily Summary: The first day’s task of recruiting participants for the program was successfully completed, resulting in ten families accepting housing.

Next Steps: Conduct town hall meeting to develop consensus for program parameters and to determine which households will serve as chroniclers.


tt103

Personal Journal: I couldn’t have hoped for a better start! The families that I met are diverse and interesting! No elders yet, but I’ve reserved a few openings for more to join the program as we go along.

My own home, a Victorian in Magnolia Park, is more than ample, with a large dining area, a library, a  home gym, a zen room, and an office. I guess being the CEO of the project has some perks!

The district it’s in is beautiful, too, with long walks beside the river.

tt117

I had planned to travel to Willow Creek and Oasis Springs to recruit the participants, but since I was able to meet ten families here at the riverside walk, the extra travel wasn’t required.

After verifying the funding guidelines one last time before beginning the recruiting, just to be sure I understood all the legalities, I was ready. Let’s start this project!

tt116

The first three Townies I met were men, two married, one single and living with a roommate.

“Free housing?” asked one, who had a wife and two kids.

“What’s the catch?” asked the single guy.

“Sounds a little too good to be true,” said the other husband.

tt115

When they heard that it was, indeed, a legitimate program, looking for volunteers, they accepted almost immediately.

“Just need to check with the wife,” said the third man, and off he went.

The other husband’s wife, Chastity, walked by next.

“Of course we’d be interested,” she said. She’d read about the program and had even researched it, so she was able to assure her husband and the single man that it was for real.

“Spread the word!” I suggested. The training material I’d received stressed that these programs work so much better when the participants help with the recruiting by telling their friends and acquaintances about it.

tt114

I was glad for all my business training! My experience in sales helped me emphasize the program’s best points, and all that public speaking experience I’ve had came in handy, too.

I can see that we’ll have our share of interpersonal challenges–some of the participants have already taken a dislike to each other.

tt113

But that’s where my community-building training will enter in. We learned as a first premise that harmony isn’t to be expected initially, but that it can be developed through time.

And I know that even the sweetest harmonies benefit from occasional dissonance.

I met a little girl who reminded me how much we can achieve through humor. Before long, she had all of us laughing.

tt111

I don’t even remember her jokes, but somehow her exuberance pierced any idea we had that we were strangers: we aren’t. We’re all members of the same game!

One woman surprised me by asking, “Will we be forced to change?”

tt110

She’d heard about similar programs that do “make-overs” or “artificial pairings.”

“I like the way I am,” she said. “Some people might laugh at my fashion–that I wear hiking shoes with a dress and that the colors in my wardrobe are all off and that I don’t wear make-up. But I like the way I look! It’s comfortable and practical!”

“You won’t be forced to do much of anything,” I replied. “The goal is to be the best expression of yourself–or you own individuality–as possible! That means to work with you, and to be of assistance, rather than to change you.”

“Can’t stop change,” said one of the women. “It’ll happen anyway.”

“True,” I said. “But there’s change that’s imposed and change that comes naturally. That’s the kind we’re going for.”

Some of the people were so delighted.

“You mean I’ll actually have a chance to live in a house? Have a career if I want? Do some of the things I want to do?”

tt105

It felt great to be able to assure her that she could see some of her dreams come true.

“Not another government program!” said the last woman I met. She was a hard sell. I decided that I wouldn’t try to convince her, I would simply tell her about it and leave the decision to her.

tt107

“It isn’t exactly a government program. In fact, as of now, we don’t even have a government. It will be up to us to decide if we want one, and if we do, what type it is. As of now, it’s just an idea. And it’s up to us, the participants, to decide what shape we want it to take.”

“You mean I could influence the direction this takes?”

“You absolutely could!” I replied. “It’s up to the talents and interests of each participant to shape this thing!”

tt106

She was in.

Nobody wants to be told what to do, and everybody wants to have a role in the forming of their world, their society, their culture–and their place in it.

tt104

Speaking of which, I think I’ve landed in my dream job!

tt102

You know, instead of a Town Hall meeting, I think I’ll throw a party!

