Sunshine Blogger: AdamsEve1231’s Questions

AdamsEve1231/livinasimminlife nominated Thirty Sims at Three Rivers for a Sunshine Blogger award! Thanks, AdamsEve!

AdamsEve is the author of The Kassiopeia Fullbright Mystery Series and many other wonderful stories. (I’m especially in love with From Riverview with Love, which features Gage Briody.)

You can find my nominations at the acceptance page.

AdamsEve’s Questions:

  1. If you were going to live forever, how would you spend your life?
    Oh, goodness. I’m superstitious about hypotheticals and tend to steer clear of them. You know what, though? Sometimes I feel very much that I move through timeless moments, which gives the experience of a different flavor of forever. Wittgenstein observes, “If we take eternity to mean not infinite temporal duration but timelessness, then eternal life belongs to those who live in the present” (Tractatus Logico-Philosophicus), and in my experience, this is not an esoteric point, but a very practical description. My aim, then, is to spend my life in this timeless moment, as much as possible, using clock time when needed for day-to-day functioning within the social world. When I am able to do that, then anything that I do–typing these letters, for example, playing my cello, watching clouds, talking with a friend, reading, washing dishes, chopping veggies–becomes an act of mystery and even magic.
  2. What’s your favorite TS3 supernatural and why?
    Gosh. I would have said fairies before playing Whisper, my current TS3 ISBI, which is set in Moonlight Falls. In this game, my SimSelf fell in love with a vampire in one of those epic Sim romances, and through that, I’ve grown very fond of TS3 vampires, especially with those awesome veins they have on their temples!
  3. Who is your favorite SimLit couple and why?
    Shark and Sinbad (from Senna/Nessa/rednenemon’s Racket-Rotter Chronicle) or maybe Sinbad and Amy–or how about Sinbad, Amy, and Annette?–from Trip/InfraGreen’s Eight Cicadas. The common denominator is Sinbad, living parallel universe-types of existences in both of these stories. There’s something about Sinbad’s strengths, flaws, and transformations that just gets me, and rednenemon and InfraGreen both tell his story so well.
  4. What’s your favorite Sims world and why?
    I guess I’d have to pick Windenburg from TS4. I love the wide meadows, the waterfalls, and the island. I spent a lot of summers in the Pacific Northwest as a child, including the San Juan Islands, so the landscape of Windenburg feels very much like a home I love and reminds me of free, happy times.
  5. If you could travel through space, what would be your vessel of choice?
    My consciousness.
  6. What is currently on your reading list?
    I’m working on a bookworm milestone and reading all of Shakespeare. I’ve got Henry the VI, pt. 1 and 2 and a few more of the histories left. After I finish this project, I think I’ll cycle back through Jane Austen again. It’s been a few years. And I might also catch up with Alexander McCall Smith’s novels from the past four years, if I’m in the mood for something fun and light. I’m also reading lots of SimLit perennially.
  7. Do you listen to music when you write SimLit, and if so, what?
    In the summer, often not, for I write at night when my boyfriend’s sleeping. In the winter, often yes, for I tend to write more in the morning. When I do listen to music, it’s generally chamber music from the Viennese School or keyboard music by Bach, performed by Lang Lang, Gould, or my boyfriend.
  8. What SimLit character do you find most inspirational?
    Gosh! I really find your Gage Briody inspirational! I’m not sure what it is about him that inspires me. I know! I feel that he has a really good heart, and sometimes his issues get in the way of him expressing it or acting on it, and I feel inspired that as he comes to live more and more authentically and honestly, even more of that goodness will shine through.
  9. What culture would you like to learn more about and why?
    Right now, we’re watching “The Last Kingdom” on Netflix and it has me so interested in Viking culture and Saxon pagan culture. I’m intrigued by the conflux of cultures in England in Middle Ages and I’ve love to learn more about that.
  10. What was your happiest/saddest/sappiest Sims game moment?
    Happiest: When we first got ghosts in TS4 and Timothy’s ghost and Cedar’s ghost came out together on the first night and were so sweet together in their reunion. I cried the whole time, watching them–happy tears.
    Saddest: So many meetings with Grim when I was playing Goofy Love, and each one ripped out my heart. It was pretty sad when Aspen left. I had to ask her daughter Sugar to write the post for that event.
    Sappiest: Probably Elder and Young CT’s wedding. It was great, though, and I loved every romantic, magical, and quirky moment of it.
  11. What’s the hardest thing about writing SimLit and how do you get past it?
    I suppose one of the most challenging things for me to negotiate isn’t so much inherent with SimLit but is more connected to blogging and being part of the community that reads my stories. In many ways, I love knowing and forming friendships and reciprocal readerships with those who read my stories. And on the other hand, I often feel very uncomfortable with the public aspect of this. It sometimes feels like there’s a lot of scrutiny and judgment happening, rather than celebration and acceptance. I like the anonymity of more traditional writing, where I reveal myself through my words, but no one really knows me, and so I am, in a very real sense, the invisible anonymous writer. That feels safe to me. Having friendships with readers brings joys, for sure (I love our reading circles, for example), and it also confuses me. I don’t really understand how these relationships work and what happens when readers disappear for long periods or simply drop off. I get confused because a level of intimacy and sharing happens through reading and commenting, and I interpret that as actual friendship. And then readers disappear, and I’m left wondering what to do with the feelings of affection I’ve developed for them. I haven’t figured it out, at all.

    How do I get past it? Well, you can probably tell from my answer that I’m not permanently past it. I have moments when I’m past it and moments when I’m confused. What works for me, though–and it tends to work really well and bring me smack back into the joy of writing–is to turn my focus back on to the story, to re-engage my imagination, and to find satisfaction in exploring and expressing ideas and feelings. Then, I pretend that no one will read it. And then when someone does, and leaves kind comments, my heart melts again, and the cycle returns.

    But I can always, always come back to the joy of writing and the fulfillment of immersing myself in the task of exploring ideas and putting down words: and that lasts and brings me back to myself always.

