Forgotten Art: Jasper – Seth 4

A reply to: A letter from Seth

seth414

liam207

seth402

seth406

seth401

seth408

seth409

seth410

seth421

seth420

seth423

seth422

seth424

seth426

seth425

seth427

seth428

seth429
seth431

seth416

Dear Seth,

Thank you for your letter. I read it.

It took me a few days to cultivate the right energy to reply.

I am glad that you walked through open doors and nothing went wrong. I’ve never known freedom to cause things to go “wrong,” because every change that happens in response to choosing freedom aligns with something greater than the individual doing the choosing.

Choosing freedom requires a brave heart.

seth411

I’ve never had an experience like yours when you woke in the ER. Death shared a gesture with me when Bess passed: that’s the closest I’ve come to Death’s black cape.

During the days of Bess’s passing, our home was deep in Death’s shadow. Strange to report, that shadow wasn’t filled with dread. It was still, reverent, ripe with awe, a darkness of beauty and peace.

seth412

It was only later, when the shadow receded, that I faced the rawness of grief. That’s when the black hole pulled at my mass.

In the minutes, hours, days, weeks, months, seasons, years, and decade of grief that followed, only one practice kept me from the slipping into the black hole’s open maw: I had to be present in the moment.

Every task became blessed with timelessness, and through the timeless moment, I connected to every moment, and Bess was there beside me.

I only lost myself when I fell into the past or jumped to the future.

In the timeless moment, I found myself. I found Bess. I found something that exists orthogonally to the time which fed into the black hole.

seth413

I think we mean something different by “silence.”

If you had experienced the silence that my words have been dancing around, you wouldn’t feel fear or dread or doubt.

Don’t be so sure that it isn’t your perceptions which are the mirrors.

Keep choosing the open doors. Keep choosing freedom.

What creative projects are you working on these days or planning in the near future?

I am currently drawn to sculpting in wood.

I’ve got another creative project that I’m planning, and maybe I’ll tell you about it sometime.

Thanks for writing.

I’ll stop here. I’ve got a block of cherry wood waiting for me out on the carving bench and a dragon waiting to find its form.

seth417

Wishing you health,

Jasper

seth418

seth419

seth404

<< Jasper’s Previous Letter | Jasper’s Next Letter >>

