Liebster! TheoriesofHappiness’s questions

Thank you so much, TheoriesofHappiness, for nominating my stories for the Liebster award! It means a lot to me that you say you’ve read most of them! I’m honored to be nominated by a passionate writer who creates such rich and complex stories. You can find TheoriesofHappiness’s stories at the Cornucopia of SimLit.

TheoriesofHappiness’s questions:

1. If you could go anywhere in the world without worrying about the cost of travel or a hotel, where would you go?

Ah, I am very much not a traveler. I grew up with parents and siblings who loved to travel, so most of my weekends and summers as a kid were spent on the road. I would have much preferred staying home so I could climb the oaks and explore the creek. Now, as an adult, I rarely travel. I can handle maybe one trip every two years–and then, it’s usually to visit family who live in cities and states I love.

You see, home has so many attractions for me! It’s where my cello is, my piano is, my computers are, my garden is. It’s where Jim is. I cook, paint, read, write, drink tea, brew coffee, bake date-sweetened cookies at home. Home is where I think best and where life is quiet and insulated enough for all the dreams and stories that are spinning inside of me.

2. What does the Sims mean to you? Is it something personal, or just another game?

The Sims are very personal to me–they’re like tarot cards, direct lines to universal energy! I always find life-themes expressing themselves in the Sim games I play, so then, when I write, I end up discovering things I never would have otherwise! Something about the electric currents of Sims, I think, connects up with the electric currents of our thoughts and those floating through the atmosphere, and from that, we’re able to scry meanings and mysteries that might otherwise be hidden!

3. Do you use custom content? If so, why?

I don’t. I use one mod: MCCC, to prevent culling. But I like the native aesthetic of the Sims, so I don’t use CC.

4. Which Sims game is your favorite to play, and which is your favorite for writing?

For playing, it really depends on how much energy, creative and otherwise, I have. When I have a lot of energy, and my mind isn’t occupied spinning stories or thinking of music or work projects, then I love TS3 because it’s so engaging and so much happens! I always feel I need to be on my toes playing TS3 because what happens, happen so quickly!

TS4 is so much more relaxed, and kind of boring, actually. So I love to play it when I’m more tired, or I just want to take it easy. I find that I tend to write internally while I play TS4, so it’s enjoyable from that perspective. I also love the way that TS4 stimulates oxytocin and other good feelings, so when I want that cosy, happy feeling, I’ll play TS4.

For writing, TS3 is my choice when I want something dramatic, surprising, and not at all controlled by me. Sometimes, I also crave the TS3 visuals and to write a story in which not all Sims smile all the time.

On the other hand, I really enjoy the open-endedness of TS4 for writing, along with the expressiveness of the TS4 Sims’ eyes. TS4 is my choice when I want to write interior and intimate stories.

5. What is your favorite story that you have ever wrote?

I wrote a short story (not SimLit) called “Thirty Days of Disappearing Adam,” and I really like it. It deals with themes of identity, the locus of consciousness, oneness, and that still moment of connection–along with more everyday themes of sibling rivalry, missed connections, and social awkwardness.

As far as SimLit goes, “Shift” is my favorite, which, possibly not surprisingly, also deals with many of those same themes!

6. What is your favorite SimLit story that you have ever read?

Oh, it’s too hard to answer! I seriously have a list of at least 100 works of SimLit that I deeply love and that have touched, moved, and changed me. Let’s go with one of the most recent ones I read! This week, Chrysanthemum Tango, by RipuAncestor, came out with a new chapter–oh, I loved that chapter! It’s got one of the best lines ever. I won’t spoil it for you, but if you can’t pick it out while you’re reading it, then scroll down to the comments, and you’ll see me point it out! Chrysanthemum Tango is on my short list of favorites, and the character Tad might be my favorite character (and Sim) ever.

7. What genre of music do you listen to most often when writing?

I love most to listen to silence when I write, and even more, I love to listen to mockingbirds singing while I write, especially if it’s late at night with the moon shining! If music is on, I enjoy string quartets. Haydn’s are great to write to.

8. What is your favorite quote?

Oh, oh, oh! It’s from George Eliot! It’s from MiddleMarch:

“If we had a keen vision and feeling of all ordinary human life, it would be like hearing the grass grow and the squirrel’s heart beat, and we should die of that roar which lies on the other side of silence.”

9. Who is your favorite author (of books, not SimLit)?

Probably Jane Austen. I seem to be on a hiatus from reading her right now, but I had a period of about 15 years where I was perpetually reading Austen, one novel after the other. Ask me my favorite, and I’d say whichever I was reading at the time. But truly, Persuasion is my favorite–unless it’s Mansfeld Park.  Or Emma.

10. Favorite number in the whole world?

Five. I love ten, too, but then five is a prime (and two fives make ten)! 🙂

11. What is a proverb from another language that you really connect to?

I’m actually not that good at remembering proverbs, so I just went on a chase of them. Look what I found! “In a flood of words, surely some mistakes” (Daniels).

Seeing as I’ve posted over 900 posts on this blog in less than three years, I can really connect to this quotation! Fortunately, I love floods, I love words, and I love mistakes, too!

(Oh! Maybe I should change my favorite writer to George Eliot. I do love her Mill on the Floss, speaking of floods, words, and mistakes!)

