Septemus 10

sept337

Dear Sept,

You’ve been pretty mad at me lately.

Sebastionyousendletterbutnolettercomebackwhy? What. FOR?”

sept338

“I can’t control everything, Septemus,” I replied. It’s weak. I know. I’m your bizaabgotojo, so I know, logically, I should be able to take care of everything you need. And if you need to see your siblings, I should be able to find them for you, right?

sept339

It seems that way to me, too.

Sebastionyouthinktheyallblackcrashexplodeknockgonetoo?” you asked me.

sept360

“Septemus, I’m sure not,” I replied. “Look. You were Number 77. Out of 100. That means there are 76 before you and 34 after you–”

Sebastionnothatmakeswaytoomanyit’sonly23after.”

“–Right. Twenty-three after. Ninety-nine, Septemus. They’re still out there. We’d have heard something if they weren’t.”

sept361

“But they no tell,” you said, for once not running your words together. “The agency don’t tell, and I am the last bizoopagotogo.”

sept362

I am sure you are not. It hasn’t been that long. I mean, when you’re a little tyke, like you are, sure it seems like a long time. But when you are an old guy like me, eighteen months isn’t that long to find somebody.

Look how long it took me to find you.

Your bizaabgotojo,

Sebastion

<< Previous | Next >>

