Sunshine Blogger – SoulGal’s Questions

Many thanks to SoulGal7 for the nomination for the Sunshine Blogger Award! SoulGal7 writes rich stories with well-developed characters that I always imagine are my friends! Sometimes, the world can feel a little hard–especially lately at the office, when people seem stressed, short-tempered, and grumpy–and so in those times, I love to ease into the comfort and reassurance of stories with good people in them. Even if life is challenging in the story (as it sometimes is for the characters in SoulGal’s stories), she tells the story with such a warm narrative voice that I feel like I’ve slipped into someone’s cozy kitchen for an afternoon cup of tea. Thank you for the stories you write, SoulGal7!

SoulGal7’s Questions

  1. If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you travel to and why?
    I’m so not a traveler. Everything I love to do–write, play Sims, cook, garden, yoga, play my cello, hang-out with my boyfriend–I do at home, so whenever I travel, I get homesick almost immediately. I do enjoy imaginative travel through reading and watching movies. Right now, we’re watching an eerie French mystery series on Netflix called Witnesses, and it’s set in Northern France on the coast, and so I am having so much fun traveling there in my imagination when we watch the show and I daydream about it later!
  2. What is your favorite food?
    Really hard to say! I’ll tell you what I just had which I loved so much that I almost couldn’t believe it was real food! 🙂 Peanut butter cookies with chocolate topping! And the best part, it’s a healthy recipe I invented with no sugar, no butter, no white flour! Here’s the recipe:

    Cream three fresh dates into a paste (if dry, soak first, then mash)
    Stir in half a cup of peanut butter
    Add two tbsp. olive oil. Cream together.
    Add half a cup of plain yogurt
    In a coffee grinder, grind half a cup of steel-cut oats into flour-like consistency. Mix into the date/peanut butter concoction.
    Add half a tsp. of baking soda.

    Bake on parchment paper lined cookie sheet for 15 minutes or until golden brown.

    While cookies are baking,  in a saucepan, add 2 tbsp. organic 100% cocoa. Stir in water to make paste, cook over heat to temper cocoa. When it’s shiny, stir in one date (reconstituted, if needed).

    When cookies are done, drizzle chocolate topping over cookies while still warm. Eat warm with a bowl of yogurt for an amazing treat!

  3. Of all the Sims 4 expansions and packs, which is your favorite?
    I adore San Myshuno! I love the muliculturalism. I grew up in Northern California, and San Myshuno reminds me of the San Francisco of my childhood, in the crazy, wild, colorful days of the late 1960s and early 1970s.
  4. What is the difference between ooohh and ahhhh?
    “Oooh” carries an element of excitation, and “ahhh” expresses satisfaction.
  5. Do you have a bucket list? If so, list one thing on it.
    I don’t call it a bucket list, but I do have one! One item on it is to play in a string quartet, and it looks like I’ll be able to do that this fall! It’s truly a dream-come-true because I didn’t even start playing the cello until I was 50!
  6. What is your favorite color?
    Green! What’s yours?
  7. Do you speak another language?
    Not really. We’re inventing a new language for our Alien Adoption Collab, though! 🙂
  8. If you could be a famous person for a day, who would it be? (You would have whatever skills you needed to be this person…just imagine….)
    I get scared at thinking about being someone else, because what does it feel like inside of them? The person who comes to mind for me is Lang Lang, but when I watch him play piano, he seems to feel so deeply that I think it might crush me if I had that depth of feeling and transcendence inside… so I think I will stick with me. (I’m not very good with hypotheticals.)
  9. What is your favorite song right now?
    Oh! We’re listening to Schubert string quartets these days, and I absolutely love the quartet in D, D74!
  10. Do you collect anything?
    Sim stories, LOL!
  11. If you were a superhero, what would your power be? Try to choose just one.
    Compassion. I think compassion is the greatest power–or maybe love. What I love about compassion is that it contains the drive to help. Of course, my boyfriend told me that “love is the energy to do something for someone else,” which is also a beautiful and powerful thought–and I see compassion as the energy to help someone else. So, love and compassion: They’re unbeatable super powers!
