HFH: Sequoia’s Words

Many thanks to aroseinbloom for sharing Sequoia with us and for providing Sequoia’s words.

Sequoia dropped by a few days before the wedding.

Sequoia

“I love the vibes in your home, Cathy Tea.”

I made tea while Sequoia and Elder talked in the kitchen.

Sequoia

“I feel honored to be here, Elder.”

“This is such a joyous moment, Elder,” she said. “I feel to not share it with you and your loved ones would be as though I’m missing the closing moment of our short time together.”

“I’m glad you could come,” Elder said.

“My mother taught me how important it is to ceremoniously start and end life-shifting moments,” she continued, “so being here only feels natural.”

Sequoia

“That’s how I feel about ceremony, too!”

Elder laughed, “Did you hear that, Cathy? I’m not the only one who feels that ceremony is important for endings and beginnings!”

“I know, I know!” I replied. “Just call me ceremoniphobic!”

Sequoia

“Are you afraid of ceremony?”

“Oh, ceremony is nothing to be frightened of,” she said.

“I just don’t like being the center of attention,” I said. “I’d rather be the caterer than the bride. Plus, I don’t like wearing white, and I don’t really like wearing dresses.”

“Make the ceremony your own,” she said. “Think about what it means to you and how it can be a natural form of expression of the meaning that you find in this new beginning.”

“Catering feels like a natural expression to me,” I said, feeling a little stubborn. She and Elder turned back to their conversation.

“While I’m here, Elder,” she continued,  “I wanted to let you know that I am Q. I think that is also important if we are to truly enjoy this time together.”

Sequoia

“I didn’t want my role in Desert Leaders to be a secret from you!”

“Wow, you’re Q,” Elder repeated. He took one of his moments, like he does when he’s readjusting his internal understanding of people and situation.

Elder

“You’re Q?”

“Yes,” she continued, “but I don’t prefer to be called Q. It was just…well, it was a name given to me when I worked briefly in the science labs. When my mother found out I was working there…well, it’s not important.”

Sequoia

“I still use the name ‘Q’ now and then, but I prefer to be called Sequoia.”

I took my tea to the table and joined them.

Sequoia

“Yes! I feel that too! Science is just one way to describe nature!”

“My mother didn’t much believe in science,” Sequoia said,  “only nature and The Watcher. Me, I see things differently. I think nature and science are two halves of a whole. You can’t have one without the other.”

Sequoia

“Energy flows into us, bringing us what we need.”

“My feet are rooted to the ground right now, but what keeps me there? Gravity. See…it’s natural for us to be rooted and yet, there’s a science to it all. My mother once told me that The Watcher was in control of our fate. The more I learned about science, the more I discovered that The Watcher was our energy–we bring into our lives for what we ask.”

Sequoia

“Our actions affect the flow of our energy.”

She continued. “Does that mean that those people who are suffering are asking to suffer? No. But are their actions in line with what they’re asking?”

Sequoia

“You did something amazing, Elder.”

She smiled at Elder across the table.

“In your case, Elder, you did something that many Sims can’t do–you put your wish out into the Universe and then you walked away, letting the energies of your words and actions, combined with those of the Universe, do their work without any interference. So many times, Sims say they want to find their soul-mates, but their actions don’t follow. They go on numerous dates with any Sim who gives them the time of day. They search high and low and shrug off many things they dislike about their partners in hopes of convincing themselves that they found their truest soul-mates. In the end, they are disappointed.”

Sequoia

“I see how the energy resonates between the two of you!”

Elder smiled at me.

“You, Elder Wolff, put out into the world your wish for a soul-mate. You didn’t push it. You didn’t try to control who your soul-mate would end up being. You just existed with an open mind and open heart. You listened to what your life wanted you to become instead of telling it. And all of that brought you here. Here to CathyTea’s doorstep. To this wedding.” She smiled at me.

Sequoia

“Science and nature exist together.”

“Congratulations. You are proof that science and nature exist together, to move and bend to our desires, if only we let them.”

Sequoia

“I’ve said what I came here to say.”

I gave her a hug. To think that she would see what we had done and be able to articulate it, that moved me.

Later, when Elder and I sat together in our room, I said to him that, without realizing this was what I was doing, what she described was what I always did when I had a dream that I wanted to bring into existence. I had the dream, I put it out there, and then, I let my actions fit my dream.

Elder

“What are you smiling at?”

“I think that’s why I was so tied up until I sent you my love email,” I said. “I was denying my dream for me, for us. And then that’s why I felt so free later, after I’d sent it.”

Elder looked into me, the way he does. “You know what, babe? You didn’t even need to send that message. I knew how you felt. Sometimes, I’d be doing something, and all of a sudden, I’d see the way your laugh lights up your eyes. I’d resonate with you from the inside, like I was a guitar and you were playing my strings. I think you put the message out there, and I felt it.”

Elder

Maybe he did get that message I sent through the universe.

“I did put the message out there,” I said. And I told him about how I’d sat in my spot and sent out everything that I felt about him, how my foot tingled and how he was the sun to me and how life was bright when he was around.

“I got that email, too,” he said. “The one you wrote with your mind.”